insync healthcare solutions revenue cycle management services

    2 min read

    Learn More about the 'CLAS' Standards (and get some free CEU's!)

    Featured Image

    The National Standards for Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) is a set of 15 action steps to advance health equity, improve quality, and help eliminate healthcare disparities. CLAS is about respecting the whole individual and responding to their health needs and preferences.

    'CLAS' Is About Quality Care for Diverse Populations

    The Department of Health and Human Service defines health equity as “the attainment of the highest level of health for all people."  Across the United States, people from various cultural backgrounds are unable to experience health equity for several reasons, including the social determinants of health and the availability of health services.

    emr or ehr free selection guide download

    The principle CLAS standard is: “Provide effective, equitable, understandable and respectful quality care and services that are responsive to diverse cultural health beliefs and practices, preferred languages, health literacy and other communication needs.”

    The other CLAS standards range across:

    • Governance, leadership, and workforce
    • Communication and language assistance
    • Engagement, continuous Improvement, and accountability

    Learning and implementing CLAS standards and cultural competency may be mandatory in the state you practice in. The Department of Health and Human Services tracks this information and provides it here: . Your contracted payors may also require cultural competency training, policies, and implementation for CLAS standards.

    Free Training Available for Specialty practices

    Many practices and companies struggle with resources for training. Time, staff engagement, and cost can be deterrents for organizations of all sizes. Luckily, free training is available from the Department of Health and Human Services with some excellent benefits for staff with professional licenses. Learn more about it at:

    Specialties included in the free training include:

    • Behavioral health
    • Maternity
    • Nursing
    • Physicians
    • Oral health providers
    • Disaster personnel
    • Community health workers

    Many professionals can earn continuing education units (CEUs) for completing this training, including free nursing, social worker, dentist, dental hygienist, counselor, physician assistant, nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, and physician education credits.

    Becoming aware and trained on the CLAS standard is not just the right thing for your organization, it’s also the right thing for your patients, their families, and the community you live and work in.

    While You're at it, Upgrade Your EHR Software Too

    schedule a demo with insync healthcare solutionsAt InSync Healthcare Solutions, we offer you an opportunity to also improve your EMR/EHR  capabilities with advanced and specialized software that brings together charting, billing, scheduling, and telehealth into a single cloud-based platform.

    For a closer look at how our interoperable, mobile-friendly and configurable software system can grow as your practice grows, schedule a demo now with one of our experts. We're happy to answer questions and explain how we can tailor our system to meet your needs while saving you time and money. 


    4 min read

    A New Prescription for Brains: Better Mental Health from Outdoor Activities

    Next time you’re diagnosed with a psychiatric disorder and your provider advises you to “walk it off,” don’t take their...

    4 min read

    August 2021 Electronic Health Records/EHR System software Update

    Keeping up with constantly changing industry standards and innovations is no simple task for medical practices today....

    4 min read

    Students Improve Food Choices After Judging Eating Habits of Peers

    It was an interesting idea. Instead of confronting kids about their own snack choices, they instead were invited to...