Whether you're using the InSync integrated telehealth or another telemedicine platform, here are some best practices for tightening up security online. The InSync telemedicine software platform is powered by Zoom, who is a leading provider of teleconferencing services for those in need across the country and the globe.
Best Practices for Telehealth Safety and Security
First, if you have plans to discuss, display or otherwise share in any way Patient Health Information (PHI) the most important step is to not make the meeting public.
If you have to share your meeting publicly, please take the following steps to have the best experience.
When you share your meeting link on social media or other public forums, that makes your event extremely public. ANYONE with the link can join your meeting.
For Zoom users - Avoid using your Personal Meeting ID (PMI) to host public events. Your PMI is basically one continuous meeting and you don’t want strangers crashing your personal virtual space after the meeting is over. Learn about meeting IDs and how to generate a random meeting ID (at the 0:27 mark) in this video tutorial.
Familiarize yourself with your telehealth provider's settings and features so you understand how to protect your virtual space when you need to. For example with Zoom, the Waiting Room is a helpful feature for hosts to control who comes and goes.
Don't Ignore Updates
Always install updates prompted by your software as soon as notified. These often include feature improvements, security patches and other critical updates to keep your telehealth platform optimized and running at full efficiency.
Never Give Up Control
When it comes to screen sharing, having your settings configured incorrectly could allow anyone with access to the meeting to seize control. You can typically find the controls for this setting in the advanced sharing menu (Zoom). To maintain complete control, change your settings to allow "Host Only." Once done, only you will have the ability to share your screen unless you give someone else access.
Registered users only! If you have the ability to control this setting, you should. Doing so makes certain that only users logged into the meeting with the registered email on the Telehealth account will be allowed access.
Lock the Door
Another approach is to treat your virtual meeting space just like you could in the real world. With this setting you can insure no unauthorized access occurs by literally locking the meeting. Doing so prevents anyone else from entering. With InSync Telemedicine Software, this means that even if the users have the login and password information they will be denied access. One negative of this method, if a user disconnects, they're also locked out. Here's how you can set this up with Zoom.
For the Tech Savvy
Using the InSync Telehealth setup you can enable two factor authentication. You don’t have to share the actual meeting link! Generate a random Meeting ID when scheduling your event and require a password to join.
From the participants menu, you can mouse over a participant’s name, and several options will appear, including Remove. Click that and kick someone out of the meeting.
Allowing participants to rejoin.
In your settings you should be able to enable/disable the ability for users to rejoin the meeting once they've left or been removed. This is important to enable if you want to be able to kick people out of your virtual meetings permanently.
Know When to Hold'em
With the InSync Telehealth platform you can put everyone else on hold, and the attendees’ video and audio connections will be disabled momentarily. Click on someone’s video thumbnail and select Start Attendee On Hold to activate this feature. Click Take Off Hold in the Participants list when you’re ready to have them back.
You can turn someone’s video off. If you're the host of the meeting you can block unwanted, distracting, or inappropriate gestures on video.
As a host, you can mute/unmute individual participants or all of them at once. Hosts can block unwanted, distracting, or inappropriate noise from other participants. You can also enable Mute Upon Entry in your settings to keep the clamor at bay in large meetings.
Disable File Transfer
In-meeting file transfer allows people to share files through the in-meeting chat. Toggle this off to keep the chat from getting bombarded with unsolicited pics, GIFs, memes, and other content. This is also the best way to insure malicious files can't be injected into your meetings.
No Graffiti - Disable Annotations
You and your attendees can doodle and mark up content together using annotations during screen share. You can disable the annotation feature in your Zoom settings to prevent people from writing all over the screens.
Disable Private Messages
Zoom has in-meeting chat for everyone or participants can message each other privately. Restrict participants’ ability to chat while your event is going on to cut back on distractions and prevent anyone from getting unwanted messages during the meeting.
We hope these tips help you in maintaining a sense of order within your organization. For more information on configuring your Zoom settings check out their knowledge base on the subject.